Welcome to the Birder's Diary Forum for Support And General Questions
Use the Support forum for all questions or issues.
Use the Wish List forum to leave your ideas for improving Birder’s Diary.
Use the Community Sharing forum for sharing Photos, Trips, Stories, etc.
Setup your Forum photo and profile here.
[Solved] Closing Applications Window
After updating to BD v6 build 24, I get a strange popup that I did not have before. It implies that some subwindows are open and that they must be closed. I had no apparent subwindows open. When I click "Yes" it takes me to the next popup which is normal. So it looks like there is an extra step added to do a backup.
See screenshot attachments.
Regards, Al Borodayko
I re-designed the Backup On Exit functionality to try to get more folks to do regular backups.
The new window you are referring to doesn't check to see if other windows are open, it just lets you know that if you have any opened, they will be closed before the backup can be executed.
So, all normal now.
And you should have seen a new Window that appears on Exit...
It replaces an earlier version. It purposefully requires you to take an extra manual step to disable this feature if you really want to turn off this message on exit.
Can't disable the feature because if disabled BD bypasses the ability to backuo the program. BD just closes when clicking on Exit Program (X) without giving a choice to backup or not.
In your previous post, you showed a "Backup Your Data" window. In it there is a statement that I can disable this view (View | Options | Gen 1 Tab). When I did that, I lost the ability to backup BD.
What I thought the disable would do is only eliminate the window shown in screen 4. I misinterpreted the instruction. My mistake.
Screen 1-5 are the windows that pop up in sequence when closing BD (X in the tool bar) and Backup is desired.
Screen 1 - After X in tool bar is clicked
Screen 2 - Backup window appears after "Yes" is clicked in screen 1
Screen 3 - Are you sure popup appears after clicking "Backup" in screen 2
Screen 4 - Closing Applications window appears after clicking "Yes" in screen 3
Screen 5 - Overwrite Existing Backup window appears after clicking "Yes" in screen 4
Clicking "Yes" (I always overwrite) in screen 5 initiates the backup function.
Anyhow, my whole purpose with these posts is: Why is the window shown in screen 4 necessary?
As usual, Thanks for the details. It really helps.
Why is the window shown in screen 4 necessary?
In case you have any open windows in BD with uncommitted work (Sightings Entry for example), you can abort the Backup process before it closes those windows and you lose any work in progress.
Make sense? Or am I missing something?
It makes sense, however, it scared the bejesus out of me because I couldn't find any open subwindows. I guess I would have preferred that the program recognize that no subwindows are open and bypassed that step.
I can live with whatever you throw at me.